API Feedback and Suggestions

Discussion in 'Empyrion API' started by Jascha, Mar 8, 2017.

  1. Jascha

    Jascha Administrator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    713
    Yeah.. that was the neat thing about reading files :|. Thanks for that point. Its on our list. But not for 6.0 anymore.
     
    #181
    joemorin73 likes this.
  2. joemorin73

    joemorin73 Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    170
    Damn! No biggie. I'll limit my scope in the interim.

    I did notice the permission is now part of the PlayerInfo record. Of course, I notice this after setting up a way to read the adminconfig.yaml file. :oops:
     
    #182
  3. joemorin73

    joemorin73 Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    170
    BTW, another issue I noticed while testing was that the Event_Player_ChangedPlayfield was not always firing when a player changes fields. Particularly while entering playfields normally. (Not warping.)
     
    #183
  4. joemorin73

    joemorin73 Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    170
    I see some nice additions were added in Part IV:
    ModAPI:
    - Implemented 'GetBannedPlayers'
    - Fixed 'Request_Load_Playfield'
    - Added food+foodMax to get player interface
    - Request_InGameMessage_Faction
    - Mod on client side: not activated if EAC is enabled
     
    #184
  5. joemorin73

    joemorin73 Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    170
    BTW, Global_Structure_Info does not contain a field for the playfield it resides.
     
    #185
  6. Xango2000

    Xango2000 Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    202
    Store their data in a database then search your database.

    That's how I do it with my program (uses telnet only).
     
    #186
  7. joemorin73

    joemorin73 Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    170
    The issue is duplication for data.
     
    #187
  8. Xango2000

    Xango2000 Captain

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2016
    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    202
    Still works as a workaround till your request gets fulfilled.
     
    #188
  9. Jascha

    Jascha Administrator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    713
    Was a thought. But far away. Would mean changing and breaking all save games and first you need to make sure it really works. So its on our mind, but nothing in close future.

    Am busy this week a bit.. will check the infos later. Thanks a lot for all!
     
    #189
  10. Jascha

    Jascha Administrator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    713
  11. joemorin73

    joemorin73 Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    170
    #191
  12. joemorin73

    joemorin73 Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    170
    New feature request,

    I saw the new popup screen when you start the game explaining the "mission" and thought the mod api could use something similar. The ability to show a popup to the player. Allow us to pass the title, text, button one text and button 2 text. Event to respond which button was clicked.

    (Hrrrmmm, there might need to be a better way to track requests than using seqno.)
     
    #192
    Daede and Exacute like this.
  13. Jascha

    Jascha Administrator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    713
    Hey,

    sorry was gone this week. It shold be in the EXP... not tested yet. MAybe you can checkit with your tool. If it does not work then I'll let devs know.

    What do you mean? So far you should always see if its an answer to your request.

    Thank you
     
    #193
  14. joemorin73

    joemorin73 Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    170
    When there are multiple mods active, all mods receive the Events. If Mod A requests an update on a player, Event_Player_Info is fired for Mod A, Mod B and Mod C. On the most part, this is not a problem. If a messagebox requiring a response is to be used and return back information on which button was pressed, we need a reliable way to state that this message box relates to a request in Mod A. This could become confusing if multiple mods are using message boxes.

    Now requests do have the ability to pass seqno to assist in maintaining this, but the identifier is only an unsigned byte. I do not feel it is unique enough. I would recommend changing the seqno from in unsigned byte to a Guid. The Guid allows a far more unique identifier that mods can assign to calls.
     
    #194
    Daede likes this.
  15. Exacute

    Exacute Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    307
    It is possible to get the players level from
    PlayerInfoSet>experiencePoints
    But is there anything that allows us to getCP's and setCP's? These might be useful. (the amount of CP availible to a player, r/w)
    In the same kind, is there anything that allows unlocks/removal of parts of the techtree? (which parts is locked/unlocked for a specific player)
     
    #195
    Captain Jack II likes this.
  16. Jascha

    Jascha Administrator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    713
    Hey,
    what exactly do you mean with CP?
    Techtree is not yet possible.
     
    #196
  17. Exacute

    Exacute Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2017
    Messages:
    456
    Likes Received:
    307
    CP.. Eh, I was evidently tired when I wrote that.. The upgrade points awarded from gaining a level.
     
    #197
  18. Jascha

    Jascha Administrator

    • Moderator
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2016
    Messages:
    1,141
    Likes Received:
    713
    Upgrade points can be set with alpha 6.0. They forgot that in 5.5 :)
     
    #198
    Exacute likes this.
  19. Captain Jack II

    Captain Jack II Rear Admiral

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2016
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    1,268
    This is an interesting suggestion. Customization of the tech tree stuff... hmmmm
     
    #199
    Exacute likes this.
  20. joemorin73

    joemorin73 Captain

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2016
    Messages:
    319
    Likes Received:
    170
    I believe you can update the player's upgrade points using Request_PlayerInfoSet.
     
    #200

Share This Page